Singapore Life and the first ever International EB.


I am now on my 3rd week living here in Singapore and so far I am getting the hang of  it. Even though I haven’t started working yet, I’m enjoying here. Strictly following my budget, I seldom eat out or splurge on something unnecessary. I’ll do that when I start earning my paycheck here. I buy produce at the nearest market, go grocery shopping, prepare my own food (though sometimes, me and my housemates share), do my own laundry, and iron my clothes… just like back in college when I first had my first experience of total independence. To kill boredom, I go out and jog in the morning trying out different routes, go to church, meet friends, or go to the countless malls here and just do some window shopping (not to mention ogling). But most of the time, I just stay at home and watch TV or use my ever reliable laptop and enjoy the wifi at our flat.

I do miss my family, my beautiful fiancée, and my friends back home. At least I get to talk or chat with them via YM almost every day. The last thing on my mind is to feel homesick so that they don’t have to worry about me. And just last weekend, I met a lot of new people here thanks to the common passion of listening to the tandem during our weekday mornings, Chico and Delamar. They went to an official business trip here in Singapore to promote Sentosa back in the Philippines. When I first learned of the plan that the two will be going here back in December, I really really need to gather as many rushers I can based in Singapore to have a one-of-a-kind EB… the first International Rushers’ EB. How sossy can you get?

Utilizing the wonders of Twitter, as early as two weeks before, I was able to get in touch with at least 10 people and my Singapore number has been busy ever since. I thought that it would be an easy task just to gather people then meet with C&D. But it was so difficult because I still had to coordinate with the schedule of C&D. On Saturday, I was sure that they would arrive around lunch time, but I was still clueless on their itinerary. I just decided to inform the rushers to meet after lunch at Vivo City. The first people I met were Melay and Joy. We had coffee while waiting what to do. I finally got a text from Delle and told me that they really had a tight schedule that day and we can only meet them at the hotel after 8 pm. Feeling sorry for Melay, Joy, and Gio for being there so early and making them wait, I informed them that Chico and Delle will only be available after 8 pm.I texted the others of the situation and agreed to meet up again later around 7 pm. The others decided to head off to Sentosa directly. Our group who met again at Vivo arrived at Rasa Hotel a little past 9, did some meet and greet with C&D and the rest of the group, then took a short stroll until we finally settled at bar named Cafe del Mar. We ordered drinks, chatted and bonded instantly. Of course, a lot of picture taking took place. We parted ways around midnight.

I felt tired, but the efforts were all for the love of The Morning Rush. The best thing was I gained a lot of new friends. To the TMR legends Cecil and Shay; to my future sister-in-law, Cathy, and her boyfriend Drew, and friend Tine; to the new faces: Emmylou, Chuck, Melay, Joy, Fay, Kent, Ezel, Iven, Ryan, Gio, Ron, Bebe/Daylene, Rochelle, Sonny, and to those who met us on the 2nd day: Marlon, Jun and wife Richelle, Nates, Junith and the Sentosa winners Joenil andRashell, nice meeting you. Thanks to all of you for making the Singapore EB a huge success. Whew! I hope I didn’t miss anybody! Till the next EB!

First night at Cafe Del Mar in Sentosa. If my memory serves me correctly... SITTING FROM L-R: Kent, Emmylou, Joy, Melay, Delle, Chico, Shay, Iven, Tine, Cathy, Drew. STANDING L-R: Fay, Chuck, Ryan, Rochelle, Sonny, Gio, Ron, Cecil, Me, Ezel, and Daylene

At Coffee Bean in Changi Airport. From L-R: Chuck, Jun, Marlon, Joenil , Chico, Delle, Emmylou, Rashell, Richelle, and Sonny

Categories: Adventure | Tags: | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Singapore Life and the first ever International EB.

  1. Nice blog about our EB!

    I have to say, you have a talent for remembering people’s names, inggit ako!

  2. Syem[re ngayun ko lang navisit ulit yung blog mo.. dami kong namiss hehe 🙂

    Next EB phone patch na lang ah! 😀

  3. hey guys! sasali na ko the next time na may eb ang rushers dito….. I wasn’t here then kasi… sayang! If only chico and delamar would come back! 🙂 It would be so nice to meet fellow rushers here….

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

